Thinking about the 2017 Singlestack Nationals

I don’t have a slot so I would have to try for open entry. I need some 8 round magazines as I only have 7 rounders, another go fast belt and some pouches. It wouldn’t be super cheap, but not that bad for cash for the wife and I either.

The only 1911 I have to shoot in Singlestack is this blaster.

IMG_1682.JPG

It is a Kimber Classic Custom and it is pre-series 2. It is pretty old, it is the basic model and it cost me $530. I have had to replace the factory ignition parts, and a few other things, but it is a solid gun. I used to shoot USPSA with it a 8-9 years back? Not positive on the dates but I only had 7 round mags for the gun, so I wasn’t as competitive I could be. I strapped it on with some generic pouches, and my reloads were pretty sporty and smooth. With the amount of dry fire I could do with it before the match would make them butter.

I did just put a full length guide rod (FLGR) and a new magazine release. The mag release needed a bit of fitting, but is now smooth as butter and I can’t miss it. Small enough that I can’t hit it when shooting or gripping, but big enough that my thumb can’t seem to miss.  The FLGR was just for a bit more weight at the muzzle. I do have to get some lighter recoil springs for it, right now it is a 16 pound progressive, and probably a bit too heavy. Trigger is just under 3 pounds and perfect (for me). It has a Dawson front fiber, and a Heinie rear.

The finish it toast and I think it looks beautiful. I am trying to decide if I should go to a Dawson ICE magwell or keep my Smith and Alexander magwell which is blended very well. The grip safety is pinned, but I am thinking of fitting a new one, but I would have to refinish then.

So going to buy 8 Tripp Research Cobra mag 8 rounders. I really like the follower design of the Cobra and they work flawlessly in my gun. I have several thousand rounds loaded and ready to go, and I have enough bullets, powder and primers to load a few thousand rounds more. The belt and pouches would be ordered next month.

IMG_1676.JPG

The finish looks amazing to me, as all that wear came honestly. Carried it concealed and openly on duty for 3 years, and shot and dry fired it a lot. It works well, only a couple issues that I easily fixed.

But maybe I should have a backup?

Leave a Reply

