Still alive and kicking

I know that I haven’t been posting much, and that isn’t because I haven’t been dry-firing or training it is just my job has been in the way as this is our busiest time of the year. I will try to post a bit more often but I don’t know if it will be as often as it was this summer.

Today I managed to make it to the range to actually train on my own without having to train another officer or person. I have been increasing my dry-fire to ridiculous levels and felt good about my reloads and my hands at side draw.

When I got to the range it was crazy windy so it was a pain in the butt to move my targets around too much as I have to stake them in place every time I move them. I started with Ben Stoeger’s Accelerator. Last year at this time I was having difficulty breaking 6 seconds, now I can get under that consistently, and I have been able to push under 5.5 seconds. Doesn’t matter which target I start on the close target or the far target. When pushing for my fastest times, I do tend to push the couple of C’s a bit farther from the A zone than I would like at the 25 yard target. It is a trigger control issue and not a sight picture issue, I need to work on my speed for far targets as I still slap the trigger like I would for a 7 yard target.

I shot some distance change-up drills with steel as the far change up target. I had both of my plates set up so I would occasional shoot one steel or two steel after shooting the paper targets. This allowed me to ensure that I was taking the appropriate measures to go one for one on the steel. Times were good and well within my expectations.

I shot some Bill drills at 7 yards and at 25 yards. Shot multiple Bill drills at 7 yards that were my fastest and tightest grouped ever, my new personal best was a 1.67 second and it was a group the size of my fist. 25 yards are getting better, just over 3 seconds and all Alpha’s. I believe it is all because I have increased my grip strength and it is allowing me better control.

Shot a couple of 4 Aces at 7 yards. Last year at this time, I couldn’t get below 2.5 seconds with any consistency, even warmed up. Today I was able to consistently hit 2.2 to 2.3 seconds.

Ran some Blake drills and Criss-Cross. Low hanging fruit is still transitions, need to push it and see faster. Not just blaze across the targets but drive the gun to the center of the A zone faster and more accurately. May have to do the Hopkins drill for a while. Blake drill times aren’t quite to the same speed as my Bill drill times. I am not complaining about my criss-cross speeds though, felt really good shooting upper A zone hit at a very fast speed.

Shot a couple El Presidente drills. My turn and draw needs a crap load of work. Normal draw at 10 yards is .8-.9. Turn and draw adds about .4 to .5 to it. Not good. Going to have to work that out in dry fire.

Time to fire up the Mark 7 and get some more practice ammo loaded up. Just got another 20k primers in.

Leave a Reply

