One week to go

One week until my first match of the year for me, the Wisconsin Sectional.  I work the next 4 nights and get off work at 0400 hours on Wednesday morning.  That day will most likely suck for me, as I will get off then take a short nap and get up early to start transferring my body to day hours.  Wednesday I will be taking my motorcycle to Sioux Falls to list it for sale with a local shop that sells them through consignment, and I have to stop at Costco as the 36 inch waist shorts I bought are too big.  Thursday I will be on the range with a new officer and hopefully will get in a short practice session myself, confirm chrono and zero with both guns again.  Probably a bit of overkill to chrono again, but it is just the way I roll.   The new guy has one of the worst flinches I have ever seen, but it is just him overthinking it.  He just needs to shoot the damn gun.

Was at the range yesterday, and noticed that my times are good, my accuracy was good, and was feeling decent.  I still can’t get my live fire reloads faster than 1.3 seconds, and my draws are not as fast as they could be.  I know what it is though, I have difficulty allowing myself C’s, D’s and misses as I have been accuracy focused throughout my law enforcement career, and I have always been better than 95% of the other LEO’s I have encountered for both speed and accuracy.  Basically a big fish in a little pond, which is what lead me to shooting USPSA and shoot against better people and push my development to become better.  Dry fire is easy as I just do it, but in live fire the safety side of my brain and my constant worrying about liability of my shots makes me take just a bit more time acquiring my sights than necessary.  So after the section match I will be pushing myself into speed mode to see if I can get past the mental block.  I should be starting my trigger press just a bit sooner when drawing.

I did shoot my first Accelerator in under 6 seconds with all alphas, but it was a one time thing, the rest of them were just over 6 seconds.  The low hanging fruit is the reload and the draw.  Blake drills were possible in under 2 seconds.  25 yard Bill drills were my fastest yet at 3.4 seconds with all A’s and I know that I can drop that to faster times.  Did some distance change up and that was easy to shoot in under 3.0 seconds, didn’t matter if I started on the 15 yard head shots or the close open paper.  All in all it just felt better than my last range session and my mental game was on point.

Last night after getting home from the range I cleaned the guns, and took the Cajun Gun Works bushing out of Red.  I decided to try one out but it made the gun shoot 4 inches high at 20 yards, so the factory one is back in the gun.  I really couldn’t tell if it made the gun more accurate as Red was always really accurate for a factory gun.  But for the price I figured I would give the bushing a go, but I will be selling it.  It is a nice part, but I don’t think it is really necessary for me especially as it is my practice/backup gun.

IMG_0863

Tonight I loaded up some ammo for the match and some more practice ammo.  I love the 1050, loads ammo fast and with better quality then when I ran the 550b.  The primers seat nice and deep, and OAL is always within +-.002 even with mixed brass.  Tonight out of the 700 rounds I loaded I only had one that didn’t case gauge and that was Tula brass, so I really wasn’t surprised.  Everything else gauged nicely and plunk tested great.

Will keep up my dry fire during the next week and keep lifting and doing cardio.  Ready as I will ever be!

Leave a Reply

