Ready for the match season

Yesterday I hit the indoor range. I would rather be training outdoors as I have a lot of movement drills that I want to be working on, but the weather has not been cooperating and the range and the road to it has been soaked. Last thing I need to do is piss off the board and lose my access.

Got to the range a bit before the RO’s were ready so I just chilled out in the lobby.  Once they were ready, I went to lane 2 and shot some of my new load for group testing with Blue.  The group size at 25 yards was excellent, but slightly to the right.  I knew this would be the case, as the rear size was just a bit off still.  Red also shot excellent groups with the new reduced OAL load.

I pulled Red out and set up a FAST target at 7 yards and ran the drill multiple times. As they don’t let you draw I started from loaded table starts.  All times were under 5 seconds and my best was 3.58.  The last couple runs I did I really tried to push for speed and threw a couple of the head box shots out, just about 1/2 inch low.

I did a bunch of reload drills, 1 reload 1, 1 reload 1 reload 1 reload 1, 4 Aces and double Bill drills at 7 yards using a 5 x 8 index card.  Ran the crap out of these, slower than I wanted and I am not sure why.  I think I am looking for too good of a sight picture for the shot after the reload.  I will have to do some testing to make sure.  Averaged around 1.3 seconds.  I practice the shit out of reloads in dry fire but can’t seem to get them much faster than this.  Some of the best shooters can do it in 1 second repeatable, yet I just can’t get that last .3 of a second.  I probably does not matter that much, but if someone else can do it, why can’t I?

Did a bunch of strong hand, and weak hand only shooting.  I have to dry fire the transfer from strong to weak a bunch more.  It was much easier with a plastic gun that was lighter, I could almost just throw it into the weak hand.  The Shadow seems to need a bit more focus to get it perfect.

Ran the Dot drill a few times, once again doing table starts, easy to make the 5 seconds par, and cleaned it at 5 a couple times.  Failed to clean it at 7 yards, threw 1 out each time.  I did some Dots strong hand and weak hand only, but by that point I just was not feeling it and lost focus.  So I packed it up and called it a day.

Today, I woke up and ran out to a nearby gravel road that I have done some quick function testing of guns in the past and setup my chronograph.  After bumping up my load to 3.4 grains of Titegroup both guns showed a power factor of 132, which gives me plenty of cushion.

I came home and cleaned up both Red and Blue as I have decided not to wait 6 to 7 thousand rounds between cleanings anymore.  Just wipe out the big crude and re-lube. I centered Blue’s rear sight properly.

IMG_0689.jpg

Minnesota Sectional has been moved from Rochester, MN area to Forest Lake, MN which is the range that hosted the Ron Avery course that got me back into USPSA and is August 6th.  I have to make a decision if I am going to go to the match.  If I do that means that I will be attending major matches 4 weekends in a row.  Area 3, MN Sectional, Nationals, and Area 5.  Which I would love, but my job may get a little pissy with.  We will see.

 

Leave a Reply

