Much Needed Range Therapy

Snowed again yesterday and while we didn’t get the 6 inches that they predicted we would,  it was just enough to coat everything. Today the weather was warmer and almost all of the snow melted, so the road to the outdoor range would be a soupy mess and I didn’t want to tear it up, so back to the indoor range.

Honestly I shot more than I probably needed to, probably 800 rounds of 9mm and a couple hundred of .45 ACP. I took my 1911 with me, and decided to shoot that first. I hadn’t shot the 1911 in a long time. I busted it out yesterday and did some dry fire with it, and I will be damned if I couldn’t reload that bitch faster than I expected.

Loaded up the 1911 and shot a few groups at 25 yards. 4″ black circle was my target and all of the first 2 magazines went inside it with no problems. I screwed around with that gun for bit and just basically plinked with it. Definitely enjoyed shooting it, and I will probably shoot it at the super classifier match for Single Stack after shooting in Production.

Switched out to the CZ and threw the belt on.  Worked some 1 reload 1’s, 4 Aces, double Bill drills, and a bunch of different things with reloads incorporated in.  FAST drills at 3.80 to 4.00 seconds at 7 yards.  Basically trying to push my speed with tight low probability targets again.  Best thing I did was the 1″ TPC dot drill that I talked about in my last entry.  5 yards, 14.63 seconds with 4 out, and just barely out.  I liked that!

I do need to get outdoors and shoot.  Need to work on stuff that I just can’t do at the indoor range.  Hopefully the weather will start to cooperate and the road and bays will get dried up.

On a side note, I did clean the practice gun last week.  This is what it looked like before the cleaning, and it was last cleaned around Christmas.  Roughly 6 to 7 thousand rounds through it, and it was still running perfectly, but I was bored so I decided to clean it out.  It was gooey.

IMG_0479

Leave a Reply

