Random – 27 December 2015

Since my last post I have been to the range for live fire twice and done some intermittent dry fire. I need to step up the dry fire, but the things I need to work on in dry fire are slightly different than what I am working on in live fire. A couple of things in my life have been distracting me from training the way I should.

First is my 11 year old Boston Terrier, Cooper (yes he is named after Jeff Cooper) is not doing well. We aren’t sure what happened but he is having serious balance issues and possible dementia. Carla first noticed it one morning a couple of weeks ago when she took him outside for his morning potty break. It was icy and slippery out and he slipped on the porch stairs and fell on to his back like a turtle. We don’t know if that is what started it or if he had a stroke in the middle of the night, or something else, but he has been like a baby giraffe trying to walk for the first time since. The vet prescribed steroids which seemed to give a bit of improvement, but once his prescription ran out, he took a turn for the worse. Luckily our vet was able to help out on Christmas Eve and prescribed more steroids and an antibiotic for possible neurological damage. He also is having vision issues, and can’t see very well. This is killing me, I love that dog, he is my boy and if this doesn’t help we will probably have to put him down.

Second thing is Christmas season and work. We have an officer that is leaving the department, so we will be an officer short and with a department that already has less officers than it should and people wanting to take leave makes it hard to fill shifts. As I am the Sergeant in charge of patrol I get to figure out how to make it all happen.

But like all things in life, nothing comes easy so I just have to harden the f*** up and drive on.

On the positive, I have lost 50 pounds since labor day and am feeling lighter on my feet and can move through a speed ladder faster and with greater accuracy. I need to continue to increase my cardio and continue with pylometrics if I want to be able to move through a course of fire quickly and efficiently.

Leave a Reply

