Practice – 10 December 2015

I hit the indoor range shortly after I got off work. I had several different targets with me. The targets I have been using are from Pistol-Training.com, tacticalperformancecenter.com, or HaleyStrategic.com (link to download halfway down page). I generally choose targets with multiple small objects and then shoot them at speed doing small transitions and multiple shots per object. As I can’t draw or reload, I generally focus on grip, trigger control and seeing what I need to make the shot.

My goals yesterday was to ensure that I had a good grip, that I wasn’t closing my eyes when shooting (a problem I continue to grapple with), and seeing what type of sight picture I could get away with at various distances.

I didn’t really have an issue with my grip throughout the session, as I have been re-enforcing it with dry-fire. My sights were tracking better than the previous week’s session, and I was feeling pretty good. I started to play with different types of sight focus. Running the dot drill target, I found that I could focus on the target and still line up the sights and get 95% hits inside the dots at 7 yards. At 5 yards it was cake. Basically the target was in crystal clear focus, and my front and rear sights are fuzzy. With the narrow front sight I have and the notch width on the Shadow, I can still tell that I have close to equal light and equal height around the front sight. So I don’t need to have a hard front sight focus for each shot. I have known this in theory but I really haven’t played around with it in live fire, and now I know I can do it. Will be even easier with a large 6 x 11 inch A-Zone!

I shot some groups, and as I was feeling good and I had the ammo, I decided to work on strong hand and weak hand. Shooting some of the same drills with 1” circles at 7 yards, I discovered that I truly suck. I still flinch when shooting strong or weak on occasion, so I will be focusing some dry-fire time to just transitioning and shooting accurately at speed and with precision. My speed is still good, but my accuracy is not where I want it. I would occasionally miss the 1” circle by several inches. If I slowed down a bit I could make the hits, but it was slower than I liked.

In all I shot about 350 rounds, and spent just over an hour turning money into noise. My hands were covered in black when finished from carbon and lead, it was a good day. No real issues with the Shadow except for 2 rounds that just barely didn’t go into battery. But it was with ammo I loaded up and threw in the bucket without gauging them. When I shoot matches I gauge my ammo ahead of time.

I am down to 216 pounds from 260. I have had to buy new pants and get new work uniform shirts. Today, I came in and had to switch out my duty belt to the next size down. It’s a good problem to have! Feeling great, waking up early every morning and exercising before work, maybe by the start of the next season I won’t look like a wounded buffalo when running.

4 comments

  1. How do you measure seeing what you need to see to make the shot? Repeating a drill while reducing the par time could just be good muscle memory not seeing and reacting faster.

    Like

    1. I know that I am seeing and reacting faster as I see the sights each time I shoot, watch them lift in recoil and return on target and can break the next shot as the front sight settles back into the rear notch. Thus if I can shoot the drill clean and faster than normal, it is because I am seeing faster. While muscle memory will help you index the gun faster you still have to see the sights quickly and learn to read them at speed. If I miss, I know it as soon as the shot breaks as I watched the sights move out of alignment.

      Like

      1. But don’t you need a clean consistent grip, trigger pull and recoil management on demand so that you can truly make the shot as fast as you see it. Otherwise bad groups could be a result of taking a shot too fast or variation in gun handling.

        Like

  2. Grip is important but I develop it and perfect it in dry-fire. Same with the trigger press. Ask Tim about the wall drill I make him do all the time to focus on his trigger press. The live fire just confirms that my grip and trigger press are good.

    I also don’t manage recoil, I let the recoil happen, if you try to manage it you will most likely develop a pre-ignition push aka flinch. Muzzle rise happens, too many people try to get the gun to track as flat as possible. With a good grip and the proper recoil spring the gun will recoil and the sights will recover with no effort on your part other than holding on to the gun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

