Dillon Super 1050

1050 with Accu

I have been reloading for years, and I have finally obtained a Dillon Precision Super 1050 for the purposes of loading 9mm Minor ammunition for the sport of USPSA for my personal use.  This is a commercial grade reloading press and extremely well built.

It arrived yesterday and when I got home from work I immediately hauled it into the basement.  60 pounds and one big box.  I mounted the press, tested the case feeder finished the installation.  My back was hurting from a sprain the week before so I was done for the night.

This morning I woke up and after my wife left for work I made my way in to the mancave to see how she ran.

After a few tweaks I was up and running.

1050 up close

First thing I did was remove the powder measure and Mr. Bulletfeeder powder funnel from the 550b and move it to the Super 1050, and put the new one on the empty 550b toolhead that I will setup for .308.  I have used this measure with Titegroup for the last 10 years and it has always been very consistent.  Once on the 1050 I only had to adjust the belling, and then one small twist on the measure had me at a perfect 3.5 grains of Titegroup.

I also had to pull the primer magazine tube out and clean it.  There was some gunk near the tip and it was preventing the primers from flowing.  A quick scrub with Isopropyl Alcohol, a cotton swab and a pipe cleaner and I was back in business.

The seating die needed a slight adjustment and I was loading rounds.

 

Recipe is 135r Bayou RN in front of 3.5 grains of Titegroup.  Mixed brass, Federal small pistol primers.  1.150 OAL.  Shoots at about 133 power factor.

This press is amazing!  Produces outstanding ammunition, and in one hour I have already produced 900 rounds of ammo.  And that will just speed up with time.

Really happy with the reloading room right now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

