Random Thoughts

Dryfire has been intermittent but I have been focusing on the basics.  Reloads are improving and have been able to hit 1.2 second par times.  I will hopefully have them at 1.0 by the beginning of next season.  Going to the range today to conduct an in-service and qualification for an officer that was out on maternity leave, based on her past performance it is going to be a long day!

Weight loss is going well.  I have dropped roughly 16 pounds in the last week and a half.  Protein shakes, vegetables, no carbs and minimal fats.  As my caloric intake is minimal, I haven’t been doing any hardcore workouts yet.  Still acclimating to the reduced amount of food.  First couple days was a bitch, getting better now.  Once drop another 40 pounds, and hit my goal weight of 200 lbs I start plyometrics to increase foot speed and agility.  I will also be lifting, and running to increase strength and conditioning.

Heading to San Francisco for a few days with my wife and father-in-law for his Navy ship reunion.  Will be walking all over the place, so hopefully I can drop some more weight.  The last couple of days have leveled off on dropping weight quickly.


Just got back from the range with the officer I was training.  While she was topping off mags, I get to shoot a few rounds.  Felt good.  No problems missing the draw, nice and smooth.  Reloads are the best they have been in a while.  Accuracy was good, the new Shadow once again proved its awesomeness.

I strapped on the Glock 19 with the Safariland GLS Pro-Fit after a bit, and I have to say I love that holster.  Fast as hell, and retains the gun decent enough for 3-gun, gun locks in and the release is me getting a grip.  10 yard pair head shots in 1.45 seconds is pretty decent with a gun I haven’t shot since June.  I think the Shadows are just making me better with any and all guns.

Didn’t really get to do much training, but it felt really good to smoke the draws and reloads again.  I need to dry-fire more often!

Leave a Reply

